Blogia
CLASS OF 2010-2011!!!

REPORTED SPEECH

We use the Reported Speech when we want to report what someone else said before.

 

Direct speech

  Reported speech

"I always drink coffee". She said.

  She said that she always drank coffee.

 

 

-       Although the most common verbs are say, tell and ask, we can use verbs such as  explain, promise, say, tell, suggest...

-       It is not neccesary to change the verb tense if the verb in the direct speech is in the present.

-       that can be omited.

-       When we make a sentence in Reported Speech, the verb moves a step backwards in time:

Direct speech

Reported speech

present simple
I am happy
I sleep

past simple
He said he was happy
He said he slept

present continuos
I am feeling happy
I am sleeping

past continuos
He said he was feeling happy
He said he was sleeping

past simple
I was happy
I slept

past perfect
He said he had been happy
He said he had slept

present perfect
I have been happy
I have slept

past perfect
He said he had been happy
He said he had slept

present perfect continuos
I have been feeling happy
I have been sleeping

past perfect continuos
He said he had been feeling happy
He said he had been sleeping

future
I will be happy
I will sleep

simple conditional
He said he would be happy
He said he would sleep

future perfect
I will have been happy
I will have sleep

CAN
I can sleep

COULD
He said he could sleep

MAY
I may sleep

MIGHT
He said he might sleep

WILL
I will sleep

WOULD
He said he would sleep

MUST
I must sleep

HAD TO
He said he had to sleep

0 comentarios